Progress · Quilts · Updates · WIP

WIP Wednesday

Hello, everyone! How has your Wednesday been? Mine has been ultra productive. I’ve been working hard on finishing up the petal quilt, and I made 11 more blocks for my mom’s raspberry kiss quilt. The one for my mom will take a while. I only have 14 blocks, and I need 96 (phew!). Hopefully I will be able to get a few more done tonight once I’m done procrastinating with this blog. The petal quilt, however, is totally pieced, and now all I have to do is quilt it. I am patiently awaiting the backing and binding fabric I ordered from Etsy so I can get started.

il_fullxfull.603010869_qgdu
T
his is the backing fabric I chose. Originally I wanted this same pattern in mint, but then I thought about the binding and realized this one would look a lot better. Since the binding was pink and orange, I didn’t want too much going with the mint.

il_fullxfull.616695679_hfdb
T
his is the binding I chose. I love diagonal stripes for a binding, and since this fabric was part of the collection, I figured it would be perfect.

Well, here it is – the finished quilt top. I think I am going to try free motion quilting on this one. Maybe flowers with swirls? I’ve never done free motion quilting before, so I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it all works out.

DSC_0969
I just love petal quilts! I’m hoping to have this one done by the end of June. We’ll see though, I feel like I have so many projects going on right now!

Happy Wednesday, everyone!

Leave a Reply

