Updates

Introducing >> west+arrow <<

After much prayer and encouragement from family and friends, I decided to change the name of my Etsy shopBut why? I loved my old shop name, Jumblebee Baby. I spent a lot of time coming up with the that name and designing logos and tags, etc. One of my favorite memories as a kid was doing a nursery rhyme play for our parents at the daycare I went to. I was maybe 4 or 5, and I was picked to be the “Baby Bumblebee.” Do you guys remember that nursery rhyme? I’m bringing home my baby bumble bee. Won’t my Mommy be so proud of me! I’m bringing home my baby bumble bee – OUCH!! It stung me!! That was my favorite song as a kid, and I sang it everywhere I went – so you can imagine how happy I was when I got picked to be the star. Since then, I have always associated babies with bees. So that’s where the “umblebee” in “Jumblebee” came from. But I wanted to be able to explain what I was making through the title of my shop. I started looking up words that went with quilting. Fabric, patchwork, pieces… and I ended up  with “jumble,” because a quilt is like a jumble of different fabrics put together. Jumble > Bumblebee > Jumblebee Baby. When I came up with the name, I loved it. It reminded me of my childhood and I thought it was pretty creative.

But this new name has so much more meaning in it for me. I have changed so much from when I first opened my Etsy shop, and west+arrow defines all of that change. For starters, our last name is West. I love that I can openly show of how proud I am of my family’s heritage. The second reason is a big one. As some of you guys may have read a few posts back, I was baptized on June 14th. Announcing that Jesus is my savior has been the most important thing I have ever done, and has dramatically changed my life in so many ways. I read The Word more, I talk about The Gospel more, and I am constantly thinking of how I can better myself or change my attitude to be more like Jesus. I am truly, immeasurable blessed and thank The Lord for all the things he has placed in my life, and use those things to bring more Glory to His name. I crave to have wisdom because “…the wisdom that is from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy,” (James 3:17) isn’t that just such a good way to live? Who doesn’t want to be peaceful, gentle, willing to yield, full of mercy and good fruits, without partiality and without hypocrisy?! And the ONLY way we can be that is by constantly looking to Him, because we are all failures and sinners, because we are selfish and we put ourselves first which makes us bitter, jealous, and mean.

I was reading last week. I randomly turned my bible to a page and landed on Exodus 10. In that Chapter, Moses went to Pharaoh and pleaded with him to let his people go so that they could worship the Lord together. When Pharaoh declined, Moses raised his staff, and the Lord sent an East wind which brought locus all throughout the land. When Pharaoh saw what happened, he came to Moses and realized his sin against the Lord, so the Lord brought a strong West wind and swept up all the locus back to the Red Sea.

When I read this, I was instantly led to pray. Pharaoh was warned of the consequences, and still declined to do what the Lord asked of him. I have done that so many times in my life – purposefully disobeying what I am told or called to do for my own selfish reasons. I prayed for a long time that the Lord would open doors for me, that I would completely trust in Him to provide. I prayed for Jackson and his salvation, and for my husband to point towards Jesus at work, and for Him to show Mitch direction. I prayed that we would all not defy the Lord, but to do as he commands us to do. And that’s when it hit me. I can’t even explain the overwhelming sense of peace that came over me. It was almost like the Lord was saying this name over and over in my head. west+arrow. At the time, I wasn’t even wanting to change the name of my shop. I was perfectly happy with what I had come up with. I tried to forget about the new name, but it kept popping up throughout the next day. And the next day. And I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I kept praying about it, and the Lord kept giving me reasons as to why I should make the change. West is like the strong West winds that came to free the land of death and destruction in Exodus 10. The West direction has always been associate with newness, exploration, and life. Arrow symbolizes the arrow that points us back to Jesus, while also symbolizes children (or babies) from the verses Psalm 127:3-5. “Behold, children are a gift of the LORD, The fruit of the womb is a reward. Like arrows in the hand of a warrior, So are the children of one’s youth. How blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them.”

I cried when I realized that this is where the Lord wants me to go with this Etsy shop. Now when people ask me what my shop name is, or what it means, I am able to point to Jesus, and show them all the work that He has done, and bring more Glory to Him which is what we are called to do! God totally answered my prayer when I asked him to open doors for me. I am so faithful that he will provide for our family, as this business is how I can stay at home with Jackson. I can’t wait for the future!

Praise Him!

nametag

Leave a Reply

